Primeur

Paul Winch-Furness©
At Primeur, there’s a little of everything that has made the success of trendy places recently: an industrial decor in a converted garage, which name still stands on the front, a cool list of obviously natural wines, a few tapas and unstrained small plates from the open kitchen and a cheerful crowd. All topped up with the necessary motivation to walk 15 minutes from Highbury & Islington, in the middle of a residential area.

Locate the communal table where your booking is directly scribbled on with chalk, squeeze between your neighbours and look up to David Gingell's board: duck rillettes, Iberian jamón, mackerel-fennel-black olive, Romanesco-mustard yoghurt-almonds, bavette-roast radish-horseradish, caramel cream or summer pudding... Many European touches applied to seasonal British ingredients, to wash down largely with the funky natural numbers of the wine list.

Valentine Benoist

How much?

Snacks: £4.50-8 - Plates: £12-18 Cheese and puddings: £6.50-9 Wine: bottle from £25

Where, when, how?

Opening times: Tuesday-Thursday 5-10.30pm, Friday-Saturday 12-10.30pm, Sunday 12-5pm Location: 116 Petherton Road, London N5 2RT Tube stations: Canonbury, Highbury & Islington Reservation: yes Telephone: +44 (0)207 226 5271 primeurn5.co.uk

Primeur

Paul Winch-Furness©
Chez Primeur, on retrouve un peu de tout ce qui fait le succès des jolies adresses depuis quelques années : un décor industriel dans un ancien garage dont le nom trône encore sur la devanture, une chouette ardoise de vins forcément nature, quelques tapas et petites assiettes dociles depuis la cuisine ouverte et un joyeux brouhaha. Le tout agrémenté d’une belle motivation, pour atteindre ce spot à 15 minutes à pieds de Highbury & Islington, en plein quartier résidentiel.

Repérez où votre résa a été délimitée directement à la craie, jouez des coudes avec vos voisins de table d’hôtes et tordez-vous le coup pour zyeuter l’ardoise : rillettes de canard, jambon ibérique, maquereau-fenouil-olive noire, romanesco-yaourt moutardé-amandes, bavette-radis rôtis-raifort, crème caramel ou pudding d’été… Pas mal de touches européennes appliquées aux ingrédients British de saison, à arroser largement des flacons funky maison.

Valentine Benoist

Combien ?

Petites assiettes : 6,50-16 £ Desserts : 6 £ Vin : bouteille dès 25 £

Où, quand, comment ?

Horaires : mardi-jeudi 17h-22h30, vendredi-samedi 12h-22h30, dimanche 12h-17h Adresse : 116 Petherton Road, London N5 2RT Métros : Canonbury, Highbury & Islington Réservation : oui Téléphone : +44 (0)207 226 5271 primeurn5.co.uk