Pitt Cue

Pitt Cue©
Now settled in a huge space in the middle of the City, Tom Adams and Jamie Berger’s new generation Pitt Cue has a “rich banker feeling like a hip Canadian lumberjack” look: black brick wall and woodpile along the open kitchen.

But straight from the grill or the smoker, it’s still the great meat craze: mangalitza bacon like you've never had before, smoked lamb breast blade, roasted pigs head to share, cured and smoked pork jowl with apple ketchup, decadent bone marrow mash and a few grilled courgettes with yoghurt and herbs, to blag it. To finish it off, the generous gooseberry-hazelnut pie of the day does the job. In your glass, match is played between robust reds, one of the house micro-brews or a Mezcal mule cocktail.

Valentine Benoist

Where, when, how?

Opening times: Monday-Friday 12-11pm (food 12-3pm and 6-10.30pm), Saturday 6-10.30pm Location: 1 The Avenue, Devonshire Square, London EC2M 4YP Tube stations: Liverpool Street, Aldgate, Aldgate East Reservation: yes Telephone: +44 (0)207 3247 770 pittcue.co.uk

How much?

Starters: £4-12.50 - Mains: £15-32.50 Sides: £5 - Desserts: £6-10 Wine: glass from £6, bottle from £25

Pitt Cue

Pitt Cue©
Désormais installé très au large en plein dans la City, le Pitt Cue nouvelle génération de Tom Adams et Jamie Berger prend des airs de cantine pour banquier argenté aux fantasmes de bûcheron canadien, avec murs en briques noires et tas de bois tout le long de la cuisine ouverte.

Mais en direct du grill ou du fumoir, c'est toujours la folie carnivore : bacon de porc mangalitza comme vous n'en avez jamais goûté, pluma d’agneau fumée, tête de cochon à partager, joue de porc salée et fumée au ketchup de pomme, décadente purée à l'os à moelle et quelques courgettes grillées au yaourt, histoire de. Pour s’achever, la généreuse tarte du jour groseille-noisette fait parfaitement le boulot. Enfin dans les godets, le match se joue entre rouge charpenté, une des six bières de la micro-brasserie maison ou le Mezcal mule.

Valentine Benoist

Où, quand, comment ?

Horaires : lundi-vendredi 12h-23h (cuisine 12h-15h et 18h-22h30), samedi 18h-22h30 Adresse : 1 The Avenue, Devonshire Square, London EC2M 4YP Métros : Liverpool Street, Aldgate, Aldgate East Réservation : oui Téléphone : +44 (0)207 3247 770 pittcue.co.uk

Combien ?

Entrées : 4-12,50 £ - Plats :15-32,50 £ Accompagnements : 5 £ - Desserts : 6-10 £ Vin : verre à partir de 6 £, bouteille à partir de 25 £