Open Kitchen #2: Freddie Janssen

My Hungry Valentine x Carousel

15th January 2017 – 1.30pm

Despite the doom and gloom, London remains one of the most cosmopolitan cities in the world, with a unique and exciting culinary scene that's shaped by the inspiring and progressive people at the heart of it.
To celebrate this new generation of talented Europeans redefining the city's tastes, My Hungry Valentine has teamed up with Carousel to give a selection of the very best the opportunity to do their own thing for the night, away from their regular kitchens.

With each one serving up a special one-off menu, the Open Kitchen series gives these young chefs the chance to show what they're all about.

Second up, on the 15th January, is a real food polymath. Pickle pioneer, taco queen, cookbook author and marketing guru at Lyle’s restaurant, Freddie Janssen moved to London 8 years ago from the Netherlands. Since then, she’s been shaking the London food scene with her experimental approach.

What to expect this time, from the Young British Foodies award-winner? A crazy Mexican sharing lunch feast, Sunday vibes and family-style, freshly made tortillas, world-class game, banging salsas and a few pickled things, of course… Prepare to eat, drink, laugh and start the new year as you mean to go on.

Be kind, rewind – Pictures of the event


Réserver


Ticket: £45 per person, all included*
Complimentary wines, courtesy of Rhône Valley wines + surprise cocktails

Location: 71 Blandford St, London W1U 8AB
Tube stations: Marble Arch, Baker Street, Edgware Road

*The incredible menu Freddie is preparing will be very meat-centric, which is why we won’t be able to cater to vegetarians and pescetarians.

Open Kitchen #2 : Freddie Janssen

My Hungry Valentine x Carousel

15 janvier 2017 – 13h30


Malgré l’actu pas toujours funky, Londres reste une des villes les plus cosmopolites du monde, et sa scène gastronomique est en perpétuelle ébullition, nourrie par des personnalités inspirantes et progressistes.
Pour mettre en avant cette joyeuse nouvelle génération de chefs européens qui fait le goût de la ville, My Hungry Valentine a décidé de leur donner chacun leur tour la parole le temps d’une soirée, hors de leur cadre habituel.

En association avec Carousel, c’est donc aux manettes de la fameuse résidence de chefs qu’ils pourront pleinement s’exprimer à travers un menu en trois temps spécialement pensé pour l’occasion.

Pour la deuxième édition le 15 janvier, c’est une véritable touche-à-tout qui prendra les commandes : pionnière de pickles, reine des tacos, auteur d’un chouette livre de cuisine et gourou du marketing chez Lyle’s, la hollandaise Freddie Janssen a posé ses valises à Londres il y a 8 ans. Depuis, elle secoue la scène food avec son approche expérimentale.

Le principe du déjeuner qui s’étire imaginé par Freddie, récompensée aux derniers Young British Foodies Awards ? Une folle fiesta mexicaine de journée à partager, un dimanche à la cool, des tortillas tout juste sorties du four, du gibier de haute volée, des salsas d’enfer et quelques pickles par-ci par-là… Un festin, des cocktails, une ambiance qui dépote pour commencer l’année comme il se doit.

Be kind, rewind – Pictures of the event


Réserver


Ticket : 45 £ par personne, tout compris*
Vins offerts par les vins de la Vallée du Rhône + cocktails surprise

Adresse : 71 Blandford St, London W1U 8AB
Stations les plus proches : Marble Arch, Baker Street, Edgware Road

*L’incroyable menu préparé par Freddie tourne essentiellement autour de la viande, nous ne pourrons malheureusement pas modifier le menu pour les végétariens et les pescetariens.