Marksman Public House

Marksman©
Chef duo Tom Harris and Jon Rotheram (St.John) took over this Hackney institution in 2015, keeping live the neighbourhood boozer touch with dark wooden panels and green leather benches. The dining room upstairs, however, was brightened up with colour splashes by Italian designer Martino Gamper.

Neo-Brit classics come simple, inventive and happily dusted off: gooey beef and barley buns spiced up by the horseradish cream, smoked herring, new potatoes and wild garlic, braised rabbit, bacon and white beans, beef and pickled walnuts pie to share… All washed down with cracking craft beers and ciders, before indulging in the demonic pear, chestnut and salted toffee cake.

Valentine Benoist

Combien ?

Snacks: £3-5 - Starters: £8-10 Mains: £15-22 - Sides: £4 - Puddings: £7 Sunday lunch menus: £29-33

Where, when, how?

Opening times: Pub : Monday-Thursday 11-12am, Saturday-Friday 11-1am, Sunday 10-12am Dining room: Monday-Saturday 6-10pm, Sunday 12-8pm Location: 254 Hackney Road, London E2 7SJ Tube stations: Hoxton, Cambridge Heath, Bethnal Green, Shoreditch High Street Reservation: yes Telephone: +44 (0)207 7397 393 marksmanpublichouse.com

Marksman Public House

Marksman©
En 2015, les duo de chefs Tom Harris et Jon Rotheram (St.John) ont repris cette institution de Hackney, sans toucher à l’esprit boiseries sombres et banquettes en cuir vert, très rade de quartier. A l’étage, c’est le designer italien Martino Gamper qui a illuminé le tout à coups de grands splashs colorés.

Dans l’assiette néo-Brit, les classiques sont simples, inventifs et surtout dépoussiérés pour notre plus grand bonheur : petites brioches moelleuses boeuf et orge secouées par une crème de raifort, hareng fumés, pommes de terre nouvelles et ail des ours, lapin braisé, bacon et haricots blancs, tourte boeuf et noix pickles à partager arrosé de la crème des bières et cidres artisanaux… Avant de fondre pour le démoniaque gâteau poire, marron et caramel au beurre salé.

Valentine Benoist

Combien ?

Snacks : 3-5 £ - Entrées : 8-10 £ Plats : 15-22 £ - Accompagnements : 4 £ - Desserts : 7 £ Menus déjeuner du dimanche : 29-33 £

Où, quand, comment ?

Horaires : Pub : lundi-jeudi 11h-00h, vendredi-samedi 11h-1h, dimanche 10h-00h Salle à manger : lundi-samedi 18h-22h, dimanche 12h-20h Adresse : 254 Hackney Road, London E2 7SJ Métros : Hoxton, Cambridge Heath, Bethnal Green, Shoreditch High Street Réservation : oui Téléphone : +44 (0)207 7397 393 marksmanpublichouse.com