Gunpowder

Gunpowder©
There’s always a line in front of this pocket-sized restaurant a stone away from the Spitafields offices, feverishly waiting to delve into the delights of chef Harneet Banweja. You can easily pass by without noticing its low-key front, but it would be a serious mistake. Stop right away.

Since 2015, he releases one of London's coolest Indian cuisine with a twist, inspired by his childhood: famous spicy venison and vermicelli doughnut, crazy crispy Kawari soft shell crab, homemade oothappam galettes filled with chettinad pulled duck... Before indulging in the molten spice chocolate cake with masala chai custard. To savour (very) close to your table neighbours, equally exalted.

Valentine Benoist

How much?

Plates: £3-16 Desserts: £7 - Cocktails: £9 Wine: glass from £5, bottle from £20

Where, when, how?

Opening times: Monday-Saturday 12-3pm and 5.30-10.30pm Location: 11 White's Row, London E1 7NF Tube stations: Liverpool St, Aldgate East, Shoreditch High St Reservation: no Telephone: +44 (0)207 4260 542 gunpowderlondon.com

Gunpowder

Gunpowder©
Il y a toujours une foule à l'entrée de ce resto de poche un peu à l'écart du bureaux du Spitafields, qui attend fébrilement de plonger dans les délices de Harneet Banweja. On le raterait facilement mais grave erreur, arrêtez-vous tout de suite.

Depuis 2015, il sort l'une des cuisines indiennes twistées les plus cool de Londres, inspirées de son enfance : fameux doughnut chevreuil et vermicelles moelleux, crabe mou Kawari de folie, galettes oothappam maison de canard effiloché chettinad… Avant de se laisser tenter par le gâteau au chocolat fondu épicé et crème anglaise au chai Masala. savourer collé serré avec ses quelques voisins tout aussi exaltés.

Valentine Benoist

Combien ?

Assiettes : 3-16 £ Desserts : 7 £ - Cocktails : 9 £ Vin : verre à partir de 5 £, bouteille à partir de 20 £

Où, quand, comment ?

Horaires : lundi-samedi 12h-15h et 17h30-22h30 Adresse : 11 White's Row, London E1 7NF Métros : Liverpool St, Aldgate East, Shoreditch High St Réservation : non Téléphone : +44 (0)207 4260 542 gunpowderlondon.com