Chick’n’Sours Haggerston

Chick'n Sours©
First canteen by Carl Clarke et David Wolanski (it now has a sister place in Seven Dials), here, the (grass-fed, of course) chicken is brined in buttermilk before sizzling under Asian influence at full blast, just like the playlist.

The Kung Pao-glazed drumsticks (peanuts, Szechuan chilli, spring onion) are best eaten with both hands and splashed in miso-ginger mayo, the K-pop bun bursts with gochujang mayo, chilli vinegar and slaw, and we’ll long remember the Szechuan aubergine marinated in black beans paste and Chinese vinegar. The picture would be incomplete if you didn’t see Pink Elephants (vodka, banana, pineapple, pomegranate, citrus, sour) thanks to the high-level cocktails!

Valentine Benoist

How much?

Starters: £5-8 - Mains: £8-12, whole chicken £25 Sides: £3.50-4.50 - Desserts: £5 Cocktails: £6-20

Where, when, how?

Opening times: Tuesday-Thursday 6-10pm, Friday 6-10.30pm, Saturday 12-3.30pm and 6-10.30pm, Sunday 12-3.30pm and 6-9.30pm Location: 390 Kingsland Road, London E8 4AA Tube stations: Haggerston, Dalston Junction, Dalston Kingsland, London Fields Reservation: yes Telephone: +44 (0)203 6208 728 chicknsours.co.uk

Chick’n’Sours Haggerston

Chick'n Sours©
Première cantoche de Carl Clarke et David Wolanski (la petite soeur est à Seven Dials), ici le poulet (élevé en plein air svp) marine dans le lait ribot avant de grésiller sous influence asiat’ à pleine balle, comme la playlist.

Les pilons Kung Pao (cacahuètes, piment du Sichuan et oignons nouveaux) se dévorent à pleines mains avec une giclée de mayo miso-gingembre, le burger de cuisse K-Pop déborde tranquillement de mayo gochujang, vinaigre pimenté et slaw, et on se souviendra longtemps de l’aubergine sichuanaise marinée à la pâte de haricots noirs et vinaigre chinois. Les cocktails de compète complètent le tableau pour voir des éléphants roses (vodka, banane, ananas, grenade et citron) !

Valentine Benoist

Combien ?

Entrées : 5-8 £ - Plats : 8-12 £, poulet entier 25 £ Accompagnements : 3,50-4,50 £ - Desserts : 5 £ Cocktails : 6-20 £

Où, quand, comment ?

Horaires : mardi-jeudi 18h-22h, vendredi 18h-22h30, samedi 12h-15h30 et 18h-22h30, dimanche 12h-15h30 et 18h-21h30 Adresse : 390 Kingsland Road, London E8 4AA Métros : Haggerston, Dalston Junction, Dalston Kingsland, London Fields Réservation : oui Téléphone : +44 (0)203 6208 728 chicknsours.co.uk