Casse-Croûte

Joyce Wang©
This proper bistrot on Bermondsey Street opened in 2013 by trio Hervé Durochat, Alex Bonnefoy and Sylvain Soulard is as French as it can get, in a delightful way: checkered tablecloths, bistro chairs (what else?), vintage posters and fleur-de-lis wallpaper (oui oui).

That day on the chalkboard menu, the generous rillettes to share were co-starring with the pissaladière to kick off. Then classic and authentic bistrot dishes like turbot, parsley risotto and Noilly-Prat sauce or veal sirloin steak with cauliflower gratin felt just right (for roast chicken, head to sibling Pique-Nique), before ending on a high sweet note with the mille-feuille or the chocolate mousse. As you had already guessed, wine glasses also toasted in original soundtrack.

Valentine Benoist with Charles-Henry Salmon

How much?

Starters: £6.50-8.50 - Cheese & charcuterie: £4-7 Mains: £17.50-19.50 - Puddings: £6.50 Wine: glass from £4, bottle from £23

Where, when, how?

Opening times: Monday-Saturday 12-10pm, Sunday 12-4pm Location: 109 Bermondsey Street, London SE1 3XB Tube stations: London Bridge, Borough, Bermondsey Reservation: yes Telephone: +44 (0)20 7407 2140 cassecroute.co.uk

Casse-Croûte

Joyce Wang©
Depuis 2013, le trio hexagonal (Hervé Durochat, Alex Bonnefoy et Sylvain Soulard) fait foisonner joliment les clichés de la France d’antan dans leur bistrot rêvé de Bermondsey : nappe à carreaux, Bibendum dans un coin, chaises (forcément) bistrot, réclames vintage et papier peint à fleur de lys (oui oui).

A l’ardoise ce jour-là, le généreux pot de rillettes à partager dispute la vedette à la pissaladière pour lancer les hostilités. S’enchaînent classiques bistrotiers bien tournés comme le turbot, risotto de persil et sauce Noilly-Prat ou le faux-filet de veau et gratin de chou-fleur (pour la rôtisserie, direction le rejeton Pique-Nique), avant de s’achever en beauté avec le mille-feuilles un poil déstructuré ou la mousse au choc’. Les verres ballon trinquent eux aussi en VF.

Valentine Benoist avec Charles-Henry Salmon

Combien ?

Entrées : 6,50-8,50 £ - Fromage & charcut' : 4-7 £ Plats : 17,50-19,50 £ - Desserts : 6,50 £ Vin : verre dès 4 £, bouteille dès 23 £

Où, quand, comment ?

Horaires : lundi-samedi 12h-22h, dimanche 12h-16h Adresse : 109 Bermondsey Street, London SE1 3XB Métros les plus proches : London Bridge, Borough, Bermondsey Réservation : oui Téléphone : +44 (0)20 7407 2140 cassecroute.co.uk